John Vanlandingham
Infallible Moderator

Rally Car:
Saab 96 V4

Well, things are somewhat the same elsewhere
January 14, 2006 09:58PM
Oi Check out what the Asian Pacific Champion has to say:
http://www.jussivalimaki.com/

These are the days for Jussi Välimäki to Finnish the negotiations of season 2006 and reveal his international rally plans. Negotiations have been tough as always and it seems that the title of APRC-Champion hasn't got much value in rally markets.

Although the negotiations with several rally teams have been promising, Välimäki cannot confirm anything else than he does not rally with MRF Rally Team in season 2006.

- We had good negotiations with MRF Rally Team operative leader, Lane Heenan. However we didn't find common solution for terms of season 2006 agreement, told Välimäki and defended, - As I'm a professional rally driver and with my pay check for the job I need to pay everyone else’s' pay check, the amounts of payment needs to be such that it suites for the demands. This is a thing that many of rally drivers nor a team manager does not understand. Therefore we have ruled MRF Rally Team out of our negotiations for season 2006.

Välimäki says strong NO for bought seats

- The profession of rally driver is funny. Please ask yourself how many profession you know where the employee has to pay his and everyone else’s' paycheques to do what he is supposed to do? There are still drivers in the markets with their heavy cash amounts to fulfil the seats for WRC, PWRC and JWRC. They all call themselves as professional rally drivers. If they're so professional, why do they have to pay for their seats? I have rallied for more than fire years as a professional driver and I won't change it to rally as a hobbyist and pay for my job, thundered Välimäki and continued, - The title of the Champion means more than you can choose which team rally car you want to drive and pay for it.