Advanced

Your first experience with firearms

Posted by Jens 
Jens
Jens
Mod Moderator

Your first experience with firearms
December 28, 2012 07:27PM
My first experience was in elementary school in New Zealand. I was allowed to fire a Bren gun. For those who aren't familiar with it.... It is a fully automatic machine gun. That was fun.
Please Login or Register to post a reply
heymagic
Banned
Junior Moderator

Rally Car:
Not a Volvo

Re: Your first experience with firearms
December 28, 2012 08:12PM
I started shooting around 6yo with an old Winchester 1906 .22. They were a smallish framed tube fed pump. I must have shot a thousand rounds thru that old gun as a kid. The barrel was shot out but it still was deadly accurate out to 40 yards or so. We had chickens and ducks in a big pen and lived close to a river. The rats and weasels were out of control , once in a while a hawk would come around. I used to bundle up and sit out on the deck at night. Used to get several every night. The biggest rat was over 18" nose to tail.

Never shot anything as neat as a bren..did shot a Thompson Contender in .35 Remington. Split the palm of my hand open but I hit the target. The owner coudn't, but then he knew how bad that POS kicked.
Dazed_Driver
Banned
Infallible Moderator

December 28, 2012 08:44PM
Very first gun I shot was a 12ga shot gun. I was trap shooting with my Uncle when I was maybe 15 or 16. Maybe even 14. I can't really remember. During the same outing, I then shot the next gun I've ever shot. A .22 rifle.

Now, going from just shooting a semi automatic (so some recoil dampened) 12ga shotgun to a .22 rifle, when I took aim, I shoved that .22 as hard as I could into my shoulder and was prepared for a 12ga kick. I squeezed the trigger and... "pop" and the round hit the target. I remember saying to my cousin, "That's it?" lol

Welcome to the cult of JVL drink the koolaid or be banned.
fiasco
Andrew Steere
Senior Moderator

Rally Car:
too rich for my blood, share a LeMons car