1fastben
Ben Hetland
Infallible Moderator

Rally Car:
None, right now

Volvo 142 Engine Recommendations
November 29, 2014 06:10PM
Hey fellas!

I know I'm not racing anymore, but if you please, I'd like some advice on powerplant options.

I picked up a '73 142 that I plan to build into a fun car, (i.e. not a race car) but I'd still like it to be quick and, if possible, I want to stick with a four cylinder carbureted N/A engine and manual trans...without spending a fortune. It already has a solid, running B20 w/4-spd in it, but from what I've read, it costs a fortune to make even meager power from them. If you have a counterpoint to this, I'm all ears, because I'm very new to the Volvo world.

My goal is roughly 200bhp, or 200 torques, which ever comes first or gets closest.

Does such an engine/manual-trans combo that I want even exist without substantial modification?

If not, but with moderate modification, what other options would you recommend?

Or, options with the B20?

Ben Hetland
1973 Volvo 142 project car (with some cone-smashing on dirt in it's future, however)

"No. Rally Racing is a back alley sport filled with jackals, headhunters and thugs!"
-Pops Racer (Speed Racer movie)

www.utahrallygroup.com
Please Login or Register to post a reply
alkun
Albert Kun
Ultra Moderator

Rally Car:
volvo 242

Re: Volvo 142 Engine Recommendations
November 29, 2014 09:00PM
You want a 200 hp NA motor for your volvo, and you want it cheap? What do you think this is, Turbobricks.com?

Hopped up B20 is a cool motor, there are cams and carbs out there that will wake up a B20, but 200 will take some $ and work.

If you are feeling crafty, get a volvo 740 turbo off craigslist. With minor hacksawing, hammering and a little oilpan swapping, the b230ft will slip right in.

Get over to turbobricks, endure some hazing, and you should be able to find a decent solution.
Eric Ewert
Eric Ewert
Mega Moderator

Rally Car:
volvo 240

November 29, 2014 10:52PM