dalspaugh
David Alspaugh
Super Moderator

Rally Car:
'91 Audi Coupe Quattro

Audi CQ Rally Build
April 30, 2015 12:59PM
Hello Everyone,

I'm new to the site, was referred over here by A.J who's building/built an old audi himself and has been giving me some advice on some audi forums.

Background on the car: Davescq.wordpress.com
Audi Forum topic: http://theprojectpad.com/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=1581

This is my first stage rally build, I've been a co-constructor on a few lemons car builds but that's about it.

Goals for the car currently:
Tear it down to basics and rebuild what I have to properly and distribute money carefully...
"OEM-esque" suspension to start to save money
Since I'm a true novice, I'll be treading lightly around power mods...
Cage may be delayed until I get some road miles on the car.... tbd

Current State of the car:

Still removing sound deading and garbage from the interior and simplifying the wiring harness. Rear suspension has been dropped out, front suspension has been mostly disassembled, engine has been run for a bit (first time in about 6 years) - and will be removed with the trans soon.

Some big current questions I have:
How do I source seats without breaking the bank (is that even possible?) I want the side head protection and the cheapest I've been able to find is like 700 a seat :-\

Fuel lines... mine are completely rusted and require replacement. I heard people running them inside the car? Also looking for some details on running the fuel pump on quick disconnects.

What to do with my Drivers window which is inoperable. Rules make it sound like they have to be able to go up and down? I was originally thinking of doing a polycarbonate replacement for the drivers side only for now. car was sold to me with the window looking like this:

Thanks in advance! smileys with beer

Blog about my history with the rally car written for non-automotive folk: davescq.wordpress.com
Please Login or Register to post a reply
dalspaugh
David Alspaugh