CBersh
Chris Bersheim
Senior Moderator

Rally Car:
Nissan 240sx

Bersh's 240
October 13, 2015 06:06PM
Hello friends,

I'm trying to build a rally car. Its not going well. Its the more round 240, the one from Japan.

To make a long story short, this is cage number two. I'm not having any luck hearing back from the scrutinizers I have contacted.

I know its hard to judge with just a couple of crude photos, but how does it look to you guys?
The main structure, sill bars, and back stays and harness bar are built with 1.75 x .095 DOM tubing. The rest is 1.5 x .095. It looks to conform to all the rules to my knowledge, but I'm still learning my abc's with this stuff. Some of the welds are a little meh, but they have good penetration.

Please Login or Register to post a reply
hoche
Michel Hoche-Mong
Infallible Moderator

Rally Car:
Golf, Golf, RX-3

Re: Bersh's 240
October 13, 2015 06:33PM
Assuming that the welds are complete and solid, I would accept that.

I'm not a real big fan of the way the seat mounts are welded to the floorpan - floorpans take a lot of abuse - but it's OK. The way they're all plated at the ends looks pretty good.

I presume the dashbar is high enough that it's not a knee-breaker.

Self-righteous douche canoe
CBersh
Chris Bersheim
Senior Moderator

Rally Car:
Nissan 240sx

October 13, 2015 07:23PM
Excellent, I was most worried about the welds.

The seat mounts in the floor turned into a necessity, I was way too high in the car otherwise.

The dash bar is above the steering column.

Thank you for your input.
hoche
Michel Hoche-Mong
Infallible Moderator

Rally Car:
Golf, Golf, RX-3

October 13, 2015 08:34PM
Well, I can't really see the welds well (nor check if they go all the way around each tube), but the design looks good and the mounts to the shell look like they're plated decently.

turoc
Ozgur Simsek
Elite Moderator

Rally Car:
working on a Veedub

October 13, 2015 10:41PM