Posted by Paddy1337 
Paddy1337
Tim Patrick
Elite Moderator

Rally Car:
Galant VR-4

help me pick a welder
December 20, 2015 08:15AM
So I've been holding off on getting a welder for a few years, because I've always been surrounded by people who TIG - and since people like to say you need a TIG if you're doing lots of aluminum.

I started researching MIG welders and it sounds like they bring FAR more to the table than I need right now, and can in fact do aluminum. What's the saying? "a good MIG today is better than a great TIG tomorrow", I think that's what he said...

My situation:
I have a 240v outlet in my garage. I'm not looking for a welder to use even after I go professional and fabricate 10hrs/day 6 days/week, but I want it to have the power for the big shit I may need/want to fab on my rally car, and at least be capable (if not good) at sheet-metal as well. I want to be able to do aluminum to some degree. Lastly, I'm a welding noob. The only welding I've ever done was almost 15 years ago, and it was TIG.

I've looked at the various brands, and I honestly think Hobart is up my alley. The price point is significantly lower than the Miller units, and for the lower price I can only see that I'm losing features that don't matter to a hobbyist (lower duty cycles, smaller wire spools, etc.) that doesn't care about speed/convenience as much.

Not that I'm buying form Amazon, but here's the two I'm feeling will meet my needs-

http://www.amazon.com/Hobart-500553-Handler-210-SpoolRunner/dp/B004USV5UC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1450619464&sr=8-1&keywords=hobart+210

http://www.amazon.com/Hobart-Handler-500554001-190-SpoolRunner/dp/B005CGZNMM/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1450619464&sr=8-6&keywords=hobart+210

The 210 is the more powerful machine. The 190 is less powerful, and cheaper, but if you notice the specific one I linked even comes with the gun that you need to do aluminum.