electric_eel
James Roberts
Mega Moderator

Rally Car:
'02 Mazda Craprotege 5

Hi, Newb here!
February 24, 2012 08:32AM
Hi everyone,

First off my name is James and I am new here. I have been in to rally racing for 17 years now. Ive attended several events and watch all the coverage I can on TV and the internet. Ive been watching it and dreaming of the day I could actually drive in a race. The only racing I have actually done has been autocross. I have 5 years experience with autocross and 2 rallycrosses under my belt.

Finally after all of that time I am building my car. I have always wanted to build my own car so I didnt even want to consider a used rally car. I know it is much more difficult and expensive but it is more fun for me.

My car is a 2002 Mazda Protege 5 and I am preparing it for G2. I am about 50% done with the car. I plan on having it finished before the 2013 Sandblast rally. I plan on Sandblast 13 being my first event.

I will get pictures of the car whenever it isnt dark out. I work during the day and get there so early and leave so late that it is always dark. I have a carport for the car which sucks.

I am sure I will have many questions along the way so be prepared for that! smileys with beer

http://rallyhq.weebly.com/
Please Login or Register to post a reply
phlat65
Sean Medcroft
Mod Moderator

Rally Car:
Building a Merkur

Re: Hi, Newb here!
February 24, 2012 09:29AM
Welcome James! Good for you for building your first car, that to me is a huge part of the experience. Would love to see the pictures.
john vanlandingham
John Vanlandingham
Ultra Moderator

Rally Car:
Saab 96 V4

February 24, 2012 10:46AM
phlat65
Welcome James! Good for you for building your first car, that to me is a huge part of the experience. Would love to see the pictures.

No! No! No! Sean. Gawddammit youse been around long enough ferfawkssake, you have to start repeating the old dogmas one of these days.

I'll help youse out: