Posted by Eric Ewert 
Eric Ewert
Eric Ewert
Junior Moderator

Rally Car:
volvo 240

Re: Volvo 240 Rally build
August 15, 2016 02:04PM
Well I suppose I could update what has been happening in the adventures of me and my volvo...

Unfortunately not a ton. As a few of you may know it took a beating at rocky mountain. Learned a bunch, particularly pay attention when multiple people tell you about weak points on a car. My logic is that I am new to this and therefor slow so I shouldn't be breaking thing. Wrong.

First stage went well, however 4-5 minutes in bent one of the control arms, all I did was braked hard for a medium speed left turn, hit a moderate sized bump under braking and it folded. Not to the point where the car was undriveable but it didn't do anything favorable for the handling.

Second stage lesson two was learned... volvo motor mounts suck. The passengers side mount split clean and with the engine twisted also claimed the exhaust. As an added bonus it punched a hole in the oil filter so we lost most of the oil on the transit after. That put an end to day two.

Fortunately service was at a hockey rink parking lot so went into the rink and grabbed a few pucks.. they made good motormounts. Patched up the rest of the car, had to use the spare control arm upside-down as it was for the other side. Robert culbertson gave us a jug of diesel oil to get us going, thanks for that!

On the transit to the first stage of the second day lesson 3 was learned... alloy gearsticks of a small diameter are not the best idea. After the first day I couldn't get the car in reverse despite using way more force than I should have to try and get it to go... this was because the transmission was at an odd angle due to the broken motormount. So driving to the stage the gearstick snapped off as it was just waiting to fail. Not the end of the world, more funny than anything.