Posted by Drew 
Eric Ewert
Eric Ewert
Junior Moderator

Rally Car:
volvo 240

Re: 1967 Cortina GT Build
November 21, 2014 10:13PM
Well I did all the welding in my piece of crap with a lincoln mig pac 10 from newfy speed n' sport. Honestly it was happy to do the job and would certainly consider another lincoln product. Oh btw it worked much better with 0.030 wire as opposed to the .023 it came with. However might want to look into a Tweco 3 in 1 if you ever want to try tig. I have no personal experience with them so do a good amount of research on quality/ capabilities before investing. But I recall the prices being very nice for something that is capable of mig and tig (and um... stick. if you honestly care)
Please Login or Register to post a reply
Drew
Drew comer
Mod Moderator

Rally Car:
1967 Cortina GT

November 22, 2014 02:20PM
the reason i asked i found a 140hd with gas bottle and cart for 300 looks new not abused hoped it could get me by plus it runs on 120 volt 20 amp easy power to find only thing i saw as a down side was a 20% duty cycle. a pro welder told me to look for 40% duty cycle but i think if i take it easy and let it rest enough should be fine,i read the specs said it could do up to butted 3/16.wonder what wall thickness is on rally cages?

Ask, listen-read, research, learn, weigh, execute, then let er rip
john vanlandingham
John Vanlandingham
Godlike Moderator

Rally Car:
Saab 96 V4

November 22, 2014 06:52PM
Drew
the reason i asked i found a 140hd with gas bottle and cart for 300 looks new not abused hoped it could get me by plus it runs on 120 volt 20 amp easy power to find only thing i saw as a down side was a 20% duty cycle. a pro welder told me to look for 40% duty cycle but i think if i take it easy and let it rest enough should be fine,i read the specs said it could do up to butted 3/16.wonder what wall thickness is on rally cages?