Posted by RileySteenFRT 
RileySteenFRT
Riley steen
Professional Moderator

Rally Car:
Focus ZX3

RWD Rally Advice
June 09, 2015 10:58AM
SO! in the process of having a merkur built but i have no rwd experience, ive done plenty of gravel driving and so called rallycross in my 2002 zx3 and 1993 legacy ss, and im no pro, but i handle myself well, and am very composed, but my daily is a 2011 wrx. so im just curious what i can do to improve my driving (legally of course) without actually having a rwd car here. sorry if this post is scatter brained.... yes i actively heel toe, left foot brake, and drive like im racing (not fast but practicing down shifts, car control, brake management etc) what would yall recommend?
Please Login or Register to post a reply
john vanlandingham
John Vanlandingham
Professional Moderator

Rally Car:
Saab 96 V4

Re: RWD Rally Advice
June 09, 2015 12:45PM
RileySteenFRT
SO! in the process of having a merkur built but i have no rwd experience, ive done plenty of gravel driving and so called rallycross in my 2002 zx3 and 1993 legacy ss, and im no pro, but i handle myself well, and am very composed, but my daily is a 2011 wrx. so im just curious what i can do to improve my driving (legally of course) without actually having a rwd car here. sorry if this post is scatter brained.... yes i actively heel toe, left foot brake, and drive like im racing (not fast but practicing down shifts, car control, brake management etc) what would yall recommend?

I'd say: first knock off that faggy LFB and girly-man "heel and toe" bullshit.
Heel and toe on a synchro box is posing.
Drive the gawddam car where you're going*

Develop a sense of fore and aft and L and R weight transfer.

Stand like this and watch endless Grupp H and F-cup vids

Then stand like that again or sit like this

or this to really increase awareness of weight transfer

and recall those vids in your mind...

*That's the biggest lesson: BE HERE NOW...