Posted by SeamusMcC 
SeamusMcC
Seamus McCarthy
Ultra Moderator

Rally Car:
Not yet

Merits of the MK3 Golf
April 18, 2017 10:18AM
Hey everybody. This may be my first post so don't hold any punches.

I'm currently putting together a budget/plan for a cheap and fun 2wd. I have no formal racing background but was a big fan of FWD and dirt roads as a younger man and would like to get back into that hobby in more sanctioned format. My rough plan is to run the car primarily in grass-o-cross, ice racing, hill climb events and maybe a rally sprint for the first year to get seat time and maybe have save enough for a day or two of classes. It would be nice if the car could serve as platform to make the jump to stage rally going into 2019.

Which brings me to my question, what are the merits of the MK3 Golf in rally. I saw Scott Fuller used to run a couple of them and they seemed to have done well. Other then that it seems everyone is running an MK2. Based off of some limited car scouting/window shopping most MK2's that are running are going for more then running MK3. Also, at any given time it seems there are maybe 1 or 2 MK2's available in my area but there are like 10 or so MK3s. I know the VR6 is a bad idea but the ABA (or was it ABF) seem good. It's the same suspension as the MK2 so I'd imagine lots of support. I saw somewhere that the shell weighs like 75lbs more but I don't think that would have a big effect on me at this level and that is wider, which is supposed to better right?

Anyway let me know if I'm an idiot before I get too attached and head in the wrong direction.
Please Login or Register to post a reply
john vanlandingham
John Vanlandingham
Godlike Moderator

Rally Car:
Saab 96 V4

Re: Merits of the MK3 Golf
April 18, 2017 02:52PM
The problem of a MkIII is same as a MkII or MkIV:

eventually you will want to get competitive and the key parts of what makes a rally car a rally car--is in the gearbox: the gears, the final drive and the diff..