Posted by DexterVW 
DexterVW
David Baker
Professional Moderator

Rally Car:
95 GTI TDI

Let me intruduce myself
November 20, 2008 07:27AM
Hey everyone! I'm new to this sight and from poking around it looks like a great one!

My name is Dave Baker and I'm from RI. I probably have met a few of you throught the years at any number of events around the NE area. I've autox'ed, rallyx'ed, hillclimbed, ice raced, TSD'ed and made myself a bother at a lot of other events.

I'm a big fan of VW's. I fell in love with them when I was very little. A friend of the family had a beetle then a black mk1 gti... couldn’t get them of the brain after that. 20 years and 30 odd vw's later and here I am. Growing up on a defunct 100 acre farm and being allowed cars since I was 13... Driving in the loose stuff is what I love best!

My current collection of autos consists of:
mk5 gti daily
scion xa wife’s daily (and really good on the dirt roads for a stocker)
81 vanagon with inline 4 2.0 conversion (rally camper van! BGF AT KO's WTF!)
84 GTI Rally Car (Scott Williams of USRT's old WarPig) headed for the great scrap heap in the sky (can you say fatigue failure?)
83 GTI (dare i say it) Showish car (who can say no to a lowered mk1 with a race motor in it)
and the one your all waiting for
95 Golf Sport
Low mileage aba with 268 cam
Eurosport exhaust
VR6 Clutch
O2J trans with Kaaz diff
Shine Racing Spring set on Bilstien HDs
Raise shifter
skid plates.... built heavy and strong
If I get my way it will be a caged log booked car by this time next year!! Till then its off to chase the fast guys in M2 NER Rallyx, Buffums winter rally and maybe some hillclimbin for a little diversity.

I have to thank my great friend Jesse Whitsell who’s currently employed at Yarrowsport (who also deserves a thanks) For all his hard work putting my car together while I take care of family stuffs (new baby with major eating location issues)