Advanced

Power to Weight Ratio Question

Posted by Wannabe 
Wannabe
Anne Francis
Senior Moderator

Power to Weight Ratio Question
April 19, 2012 11:15PM
I've been interested in Hybrid vehicles for a long time but told myself I'll park my car for a couple of months to offset the additional fuel consumption with a real car. Then I started thinking why not and considered bying a hybrid. Drove a Prius for about a month as a rental and beyond impressing my 8 year old nephew with the cool dash I hated the car (mostly the acceleration felt dangerous on the highway). I recently met with a friend in SanFrancisco who was telling me about Wrightspeed. I'm an intuitive physicist not a practicing one, can anyone help explain if this video makes sense?

I haven't researched it enough to know if the technology has made it to production vehicles yet.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/19/2012 11:16PM by Wannabe.
Please Login or Register to post a reply
aj_johnson
A.J. Johnson
Super Moderator

Rally Car:
88 Audi 80

Re: Power to Weight Ratio Question
April 20, 2012 08:23AM
I don't doubt that it's fast. Communter cars in Spokane Wa sells a vehicle called the tango. A goofy tall two seat (fighter style) car that does 0-60 in less than 4 seconds and quarter mile in just under 12sec IIRC.

The torque curve for a DC motor starts out at it's peak at 0 RPM and gradually goes down as rpms go up. So all of your power is available instantly, unlike a standard car where torque generally increases with rpms.

http://www.commutercars.com/
Jay
Jay Woodward
Godlike Moderator

Rally Car:
'90 Mazdog Frankenprotege

Jay
April 20, 2012 09:15AM