john vanlandingham
John Vanlandingham
Mega Moderator

Rally Car:
Saab 96 V4

Re: Mark 4 VW 1.8T GTi Build - RallyCross - MF Class
May 17, 2016 03:45PM
DanielSL
I'm thinking that with everything out of the car, and since I'm doing the clutch anyways, this would be a good time to do the LSD. Any of you guys who run FWD have a favorite between Quaife, Poloquin, or Wavetrac? I have a lot of experience with Quaife from the IT days, but with all the time that has gone by, is there a better option available now?

Twirly-gear diffs are for tea-kettle boys..You know? Girly men..
The guys who read these kinda books in between their grueling heats:

So if you're moving up to the lowest levels of manly competition, loose surface grass-o-cross and you don't want to be like the Pommie Bastard here

Then get a manly diff---one which works not that swishy kind
Get this

Not one of these..

The good one looks like this inside and since you worked in the hot shot speed shop you can see why its so much better

Or if you want get one of those useless twirly gear things and since you're in Flar-duh and this guy is in VA
get this licence plate at the same time to go with that diff

John Vanlandingham
Sleezattle, WA, USA

Vive le Prole-le-ralliat

www.rallyrace.net/jvab
CALL +1 206 431-9696
Remember! Pacific Standard Time
is 3 hours behind Eastern Standard Time.
Please Login or Register to post a reply
DanielSL
Daniel
Godlike Moderator

Rally Car:
2005 VW Mk. 4 Golf GTI 1.8T

May 17, 2016 03:52PM
Well hell then, I'll just take the Detroit Tru-Tracs out of my Disco II, and machine them to fit the Mk. 4 then...
Thomas Kimsey
Thomas Kimsey
Senior Moderator

Rally Car:
1988 XRatty

May 17, 2016 04:02PM
Don't know if you missed the point or just being sarcastic but what John was saying is you want a clutch type diff, not a helical or torsen diff. Clutch type work much better for gravel applications, gear type are more suited for tarmac.
DanielSL
Daniel
Godlike Moderator

Rally Car: