tin
Valentin Brovko
Mega Moderator

Rally Car:
Mazda MX3

tin
Mazda MX3 for learning and Rally/Ice X seat time
October 25, 2016 10:37PM
Hello All! I've been lurking a while and thought it's time to introduce myself, name's Valentin, hail from Alberta in the Canada. I'm totally green to this rally thing you all do with your cars, but have been rather seduced by it all and the wealth of knowledge and good humour pooling here seems to be too good to pass on.

I'm a mechanically minded artist by backround, learning aircraft maintenance in the present. Have been in love with the idea of driving a shitbox car as fast as possible on loose surfaces for quite some time. Until now circumstance has not allowed such fun. Long story short, I've come to possess a 1994 Mazda MX3 (yes, just like that one in the buy/sell here) with an engine that has eaten itself due to oil transforming into tar. The engine is an odd 1.8L vee 6 K series thing, so in search of a cheap substitute I found a 2.5L vee KLG4 that bolts straight in to the chassis and the trans (with some minor electrical surgury of course). Weight is similar, but torque and power is obviously more handsome, also it was the only replacement I could find that wasn't a total wreck. The engine is similar to what said car in the buy/sell has under the bonnet, save for it being lower compression and some other things.