Posted by DexterVW 
DexterVW
David Baker
Junior Moderator

Rally Car:
95 GTI TDI

My rally car build: Mostly Photos
December 09, 2013 12:13PM
I'll start out by saying I enjoy the building as much as I do the racing, and i'm a picky ass engineer, and I'm doing this on a shoe string, and and and... comment, poke holes, poke fun, but its mine and I love it

how it all began: The test mule (circa 2009)

the previous incarnation towing the newly caged chassis home from Cagethis.com (2009ish)

The car really didn't receive much work for the first few years as I went through a divorce, 5 moves (one across country) and a bunch of other stuff.. but
Then I rebuilt the motor, a 1.9 TDI AHU with some fancy Nural Pistons and a sweet port and polished head and manifolds

Eventually it was time for a new roof

A raised shifter

And Paint!!

Then some seat were installed

and some more engine building

and chassis prep/suspension install

Please Login or Register to post a reply
DexterVW
David Baker
Junior Moderator

Rally Car:
95 GTI TDI

Re: My rally car build: Mostly Photos
December 09, 2013 12:14PM
and more....

and finally the engine was installed in the chassis

and it was assembled as I could get it in a day

but because i was doing this (moving back to New England)

along the way this happened

which lead to this

and a long set back of $$, so i toiled away with this

until i eventually dug the beastie out from hibernation for some of this

until my landlord called it a demo derby car and asked that I remove it before the neighbors complained... so off to a new home she went

and then a bunch of stuff happened :-D
I took the brakes off the car i bought for my GF to start racing in

I got a completely new cooling system

and started installing parts as they came

I made some VW to Subie adapters

and bolted up some rocking wheels

and I continue to rock forwards as fast as I can being an hour and a quarter from my garage
john vanlandingham
John Vanlandingham
Ultra Moderator