eugene.reish
Eugene "Gene" Reish
Mega Moderator

Rally Car:
1986 VW Gti

1986 VW build...The infected grow in numbers
January 01, 2014 02:05PM
So it begins,

Hello all, feel free to call me Eugene since there is another "Gene" here already. I used to hotrod cars, build 4x4's and now I have matured to wanting to get into rally. I've been lurking trying to learn as much as I can but for me until I do something I won't really understand it, so, to quote another member "I've spent 90% of my money on good whiskey and women and the other 10% i've wasted"...Haha, I'd rather waste the remaining 10% on rally so here I go.

Originally I picked up a 1979 Ford Fiesta but it was such a nice specimen I couldn't bring myself to tear it up. So, then came this VW. For a rust free az car complete that runs for 700.00 I couldn't go wrong...I hope. My plans are to build at a steady pace to compete in 2015. I'm a pilot and gone quit often so realistically I'm giving myself a year. I would like this car to also be my back up airport car, another reason the build will be slower than most.

Anyway, the immediate threats with the car:

Bad Leaking Power Steering Leak:
I'm not sure where the leak is coming from as I have not been home to thoroughly inspect it.

Fuel Leak:
Seems to be coming from near the rear of the car at some small black box.

It was dark when I bought the car and really didn't have time to figure things out, I will be back in a few days to give it a once over.

My questions are this...

1. For the steering leak, I was searching the forums and seeing some guys advocating manual steering yet most power steering. All my current vehicles (1976 BMW 2002 and 1978 Jeep J10) don't have power steering and I haven't had much of a problem. Yet, I could see the benefits of power steering on dirt when slow. Rockcrawling you want power steering however blasting around at speed would it make much of a difference?I found this and was curious what y'all think?