Posted by czwalga 
czwalga
steve czwalga
Elite Moderator

Rally Car:
95 awd celica

Lawn Mower engine problems....
June 19, 2014 11:50AM
Alright obviously this topic is way off in left field, but I figure some of you guys would be able to help me out with this one. Lawn mower just shut off didnt hit anything, was running fine.

No compression in the engine, take the head off. Intake valve is leaking pretty bad. I take the valve out clean it and the seat, push the valve back in and hold it shut pretty tight with my hand, still leaking horribly.

Everything looks fine, the seat and valve, but obviously not sealing. Could be as simple as just replacing the valve? Anything else I should think about? I was going to buy a new valve, head gasket. I have to order the valve. Or should i just try to lap the valve and seat? I've never done it before, so i'm wondering if its worth trying, or if i'm potentially going to make things worse.
Please Login or Register to post a reply
danster
Haggis Muncher
Elite Moderator

Rally Car:
VWs (for my sins)

Re: Lawn Mower engine problems....
June 19, 2014 12:10PM
What engine type and spec?
Have you got oil in the engine? How much boost was it running when she blew?
You didn't try and add a sly shot of nitrous to speed up the process of cutting the lawn so you could grab a cold one all the sooner?

I'll go with burnt head gasket, tight valve clearance if OHV engine / or burnt exhaust valve, and a wild card of melted piston or thrown rod.

Disappointingly not yet a Jackass
Reamer
Jeff Reamer
Godlike Moderator

Rally Car:
Subaru

June 19, 2014 05:58PM