Posted by Duffster 
Duffster
Duffy Bowers
Mega Moderator

Rally Car:
1987 Mitsu Starion/ 1990 Toy Celica/ maybe soon 1971 Opel Manta

The x games? come on
July 27, 2007 10:06AM
I can't stand the thought of whoring the sport out to Kurt Sptizner's dream. This was his idea from 7 or so years ago, whenI was still a fresh fish in Rally. When I hear the "x column" in the rally community, the hair on the back of my neck stands up!

I hear the argument that it will grow the fan base.... Sorry as a recent college grad, I can say my generation has the attention span of a flea. and the extreme sport crowd can't understand the helmet worn inside a rally car concept, works.

I can only guess that hood surfing and car tapping will be on the horizon for US Rally. Thanks xgames.

"Build a spectacle that even a fool can understand and only a fool will want to watch it."

Please Login or Register to post a reply
Attachments:
open | download - edselru.jpg (12.1 KB)
edselru.jpg
Carl S
Carl Seidel
Infallible Moderator

Rally Car:
1993 honderp

Re: The x games? come on
July 27, 2007 11:48AM
boo-hoo.
Duffster
Duffy Bowers
Mega Moderator

Rally Car:

July 27, 2007 03:50PM
Ya know, If I wanted a dog and pony show I'd go to nascar. Sure it may be the future, but I can bitch about it. I guess everybody must be operating under the "any publicity is good publicity." Yeah I may be whining for a purity in the sport that is long dead, BUT I don't need the glamour.

There has never been a solid effort to develop a talent pool to compete in the WRC. And we are fools to believe that the xgames will be our savior. Nor is Pastrana, he's good, but he Blok and others won't be able to put Leob in a box, without Satge events. He may look impressive in an arena, but he's a performer and lives off the crowd.