Rally Chat
Don\
Welcome! Log In Register

Advanced

How do you get a job in Motorsport as a race mechanic/ sub assembly in the Uk?

Posted by Jordan Hanley 
Jordan Hanley
Mega Moderator
Location: Woodford Halse(inbetween Banbury and Daventry in England)

How do you get a job in Motorsport as a race mechanic/ sub assembly in the Uk?
October 11, 2013 03:25PM
I was just wondering how and what did people do to get a job in Motorsport? I'm currently studying the second year of Motorsport engineering level 3 at college, I'm planning to go to uni to study a foundation degree in Motorsport engineering and do work placements along uni as its only 2 days a week. The only motorsport experience I have has is with Toro Rosso in their wind tunnel facility for 5 days a year ago. I will be starting work experience with Toro Rosso again but this time it will be every Monday and Tuesday along side college and during this up coming holiday I will be doing work experience with Glazpart (Injection moulding) in the tool room. I would love to do work experience with any Motorsport company/ team however I cannot get any apart from Toro Rosso. I have contacted most places in Banbury and Daventry and some in Silverstone. I would be thankful if anyone can give me additional advice?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 10/11/2013 03:49PM by Jordan Hanley.
Please Login or Register to post a reply
Anders Green
Anders Green
Professional Moderator

Rally Car:
Parked

Re: How do you get a job in Motorsport as a race mechanic/ sub assembly in the Uk?
October 11, 2013 06:10PM
I would read 'The Mechanic' since it adresses this in detail.

Grassroots rally. It's what I think about.
john vanlandingham
John Vanlandingham
Elite Moderator

Rally Car:
Saab 96 V4

buy Racecarengineering, look in adverts... maybe Motorsport Snooze.

John Vanlandingham
Sleezattle, WA, USA

Vive le Prole-le-ralliat

www.rallyrace.net/jvab
CALL +1 206 431-9696
Remember! Pacific Standard Time
is 3 hours behind Eastern Standard Time.