Posted by Greg Donovan 
Greg Donovan
Greg Donovan
Mod Moderator

Rally Car:
95 Impreza Sedan

Motorcycles
June 22, 2012 03:36AM
So, I have no experience with them but I am curious about them.

Specifially early 70's bikes like the Suzuki GT186. Would owning something like that be a huge money pit? How tough is it to get parts for them? Easily ordered or eBay treasure hunts that result in me having a collection of parts bikes?

Looking at getting something in the fall to tinker with that I can ride around town and out on some county roads.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/22/2012 04:05AM by Greg Donovan.
Please Login or Register to post a reply
john vanlandingham
John Vanlandingham
Mod Moderator

Rally Car:
Saab 96 V4

Re: Motorcycles
June 22, 2012 11:56AM
Death.
Around town guarantees death. Average approach speed for a fatal motorcycle accident: 29 mph
Average impact speed for a fatal :19 mph

Sumpin like 75% of all drivers whop are gonna die on bikes die in the first 6 -8 months after purchase.

Early 70s are probably going to be 'spensive on parts from simple rarity.

And chassi, suspension, brakes are doo doo on that old junk....so why?

So here's the scenario, sunny pleasant day, you're puttering along paying attention to the sputtering motor (cause the carbie is gummed up from 35 years of corrosion) approaching intersection and a car approaching intersection turns left with no signal, you lock up the rear brakes and t bone the door, and break both legs on the bars then fly over, land on head (no problem you have a helmet) slide along and hit the curb and break your neck, bounce off and end up in the road, and get run over by a guy in his lifted turbo diesel..