Construction Zone
Don\
Welcome! Log In Register

Advanced

do you have a welded front/rear diff, did you pre-heat?

Posted by Richard Donovan 
Richard Donovan
Richard Donovan
Professional Moderator

do you have a welded front/rear diff, did you pre-heat?
August 27, 2012 12:09AM
It's been awhile since I posted last, but after a good day in the woods of Ojibwe Forest Rally, smoking some of that rally crack to feed the addiction, I decided to dust off the '91 legacy 2wd drive and weld that front diff. I've been talking about doing for the last 5 years....

so a few questions to the welded diff owners/makers of weld...

1. did you or your friend pre-heat their diff before welding, if yes to what temp?
2. are there any hidden do-hickies/springs/pins that will drop out of the trans case while I'm splitting it and fall to the floor just before I can see where they came from?

-Richard
Please Login or Register to post a reply
Doivi Clarkinen
Banned
Senior Moderator

Rally Car:
1980 Opel Ascona B

Re: do you have a welded front/rear diff, did you pre-heat?
August 27, 2012 03:59AM
1. No, it's not really necessary to preheat. Make sure you have axles (or spline stubs in your case) inserted into the side gears while welding or you'll never get them back in again. Weld everything to everything. (well, don't weld the pinion to the ring gear, duh, but you get the idea.)